Apply Indian Visa from United Kingdom

Traveling to India from the United Kingdom has become much easier with the introduction of the Indian eVisa system. The Indian eVisa allows UK citizens to apply for a visa online, eliminating the need for a physical visit to the Indian embassy or consulate. This article provides a step-by-step guide on how to apply for an Indian eVisa from the United Kingdom, along with important information and requirements.

Is a visa required for UK citizens traveling to India?

Yes, UK citizens are required to obtain a visa before traveling to India. Whether you plan to embark on an exciting Indian adventure or immerse yourself in the country's enchanting wonders, having an Indian visa is essential for UK citizens.

There are various types of e-visas available for UK citizens traveling to India. The specific visa you need will depend on the purpose of your trip.

Types of eVisas available for travelers from the United Kingdom

Travelers from the United Kingdom have access to various types of eVisas for India. Here are some of the commonly available eVisa: 

  • eTourist Visa: For tourism, recreation, sightseeing, casual visits to friends/family, and attending short-term yoga programs.
  • eBusiness Visa: For business-related visits, such as attending conferences, meetings, or establishing business connections.
  • eMedical Visa: For medical treatments, including specific treatments and accompanying attendants.
  • Medical Attendant e-Visa: This visa is for individuals accompanying patients receiving medical treatment in India. Up to two attendants per patient can apply for this visa.
  • Conference e-Visa: This visa is for individuals attending government-organized conferences or seminars in India. It allows travel specifically for the purpose of attending the event.

Who can apply for an Indian eVisa?

To be eligible for an Indian eVisa, UK citizens must meet the following criteria:

  • Passport validity: The passport must be valid for at least six months from the date of arrival in India.
  • Return ticket: Applicants must possess a return ticket or onward journey ticket.
  • Sufficient funds: Sufficient funds to cover expenses during the stay in India.
  • Non-employment: The eVisa is not valid for employment purposes.
  • Travel restrictions: Certain regions in India may have specific travel restrictions. It's essential to check for any advisories before planning your trip.

Step-by-Step Application Process for Indian eVisa

To apply for an Indian eVisa from the United Kingdom, follow these steps:

Step 1: Visit the eVisa website and select the "India eVisa Application" option.

Step 2: Fill in the required details, including personal information, passport details, travel dates, and the type of eVisa you are applying for.

Step 3: Upload scanned copies of your passport's biographical page and a recent passport-sized photograph. Ensure that the photograph meets the specified requirements.

Step 4: Pay the India eVisa fee online using a valid credit or debit card. The fee varies depending on the duration and type of eVisa.

Step 5: Submit the application and note down the application reference number for future reference.

Processing Time and Approval for Indian eVisa

The processing time for an Indian eVisa depends on the type of eVisa and the urgency chosen during the application process:

Standard Processing: The standard processing time for an Indian eVisa is usually within (3 to 5 business days) from the submission of the application. This option is suitable for travelers who plan their trip well in advance and have sufficient time before their intended travel dates.

Urgent Processing: For travelers who require their eVisa more quickly, there is an India urgent Visaprocessing option. The urgent processing time for an Indian eVisa is typically within 24 to 72 hours (1 to 3 business days) from the submission of the application. This option involves an additional fee.

Upon approval, you will receive the eVisa via email. It is advisable to take a printout of the eVisa and carry it with you during your trip to India.

Is it necessary for British citizens to visit the Indian Embassy during the visa application process?

No, it is generally not necessary for British citizens to visit the Indian Embassy during the visa application process. The Indian visa application process for British citizens can typically be completed online. In most cases, applicants can submit their documents electronically and receive their eVisa without the need to visit the Indian Embassy in person.

Restrictions and Conditions

While using an Indian eVisa, it's important to be aware of the following restrictions and conditions:

  • Multiple entries: The eVisa allows multiple entries, but it must be used within its validity period.
  • Port of entry: The eVisa can be utilized at designated airports and seaports. 
  • Extension and conversion: The eVisa is non-extendable and non-convertible to other visa categories.

Restricted areas: Certain protected or restricted areas in India require special permits. Check the official Indian eVisa website or contact the Indian embassy for detailed information.


  • Yes, you can apply for an Indian eVisa from the United Kingdom. The Indian government offers eVisa facilities to citizens of many countries, including the United Kingdom.

  • An Indian eVisa is an electronic travel authorization that allows foreign nationals to enter India for tourism, business, medical, or conference purposes. It is an alternative to the traditional visa stamped in your passport.

  • The processing time for an Indian eVisa is usually 3-5 working days. However, it's recommended to apply well in advance of your travel dates to allow for any unforeseen delays.

  • The validity of an Indian eVisa depends on the type of eVisa you apply for.

  • No, the Indian eVisa cannot be extended while in India. If you need to stay longer than the permitted duration, you would need to exit the country and apply for a new visa.

  • No, eVisa holders can only enter India through designated airports, seaports, and land border checkpoints. The list of eligible entry points is available on the Indian Visa Online website.